Children's Advocacy Centers of North Dakota
200 E. Main Street #301 * Bismarck, ND 58501
701-323-5626 *
Email contact
What counts as a disability?
In its broadest term, a disability is any physical or mental condition that limits a person’s movements, senses, or activities. For the purposes of CAC/MDT services, it is not necessary that a disability fit the federal definition or even be diagnosed by some specific standard. One of the marks of the CAC movement is its commitment to ensure the unique needs of children are recognized and met in the process of being served.

The federal government recognizes the following disabilities when considering individuals for assistance: Autism, Deafness, Deaf-Blindness, Emotional Disability (ED), Hearing Impairment, Intellectual Disability, Multiple Disabilities (MD), Orthopedic Impairment, Other Health Impairment (OHI), Specific Learning Disability (SLD), Speech/Language Impairment, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Visual Impairment.